CSPA Comments on Senator Lautenberg’s Decision to Leave the Senate

The Consumer Specialty Products Association (CSPA) has been very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work closely with Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) and his staff over the past several years.

Senator Lautenberg has been a steadfast leader  in developing and enforcing federal protections on public health and the environment in the United States and  globally.  Since 2005, he has advocated for reform of the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) that would provide the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) with both the tools and the authority to manage chemical safety. His work has helped maximize protections and provide a pathway for chemical manufacturers and chemical users to develop and market safe and effective products and services, including those from downstream companies CSPA represents.

When Senator Lautenberg reached out to industry to work with him on TSCA modernization, CSPA accepted this challenge.  Our experience working with his office has been productive and positive—resulting in a better understanding and greater appreciation of the needs, priorities and challenges faced by industry, the EPA and the public/NGO community.  It is our hope and expectation that this partnership will continue over the next two years in an effort to enact bipartisan TSCA legislation that will serve as a legacy to his passion, commitment and leadership on chemical safety and management.

Chris Cathcart, President and CEO
Consumer Specialty Products Association

About Chris Cathcart

Chris Cathcart is the President and Chief Executive Officer of CSPA
This entry was posted in News Releases and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

1667 K Street, NW, Suite 300 | Washington DC, 20006
© 2014 Consumer Specialty Products Association All Rights Reserved