What's New?

Industry Updates & Association Highlights

CSPA Selects Minnesota Student as 2017 Murray Glauberman Scholarship Award Recipient

by admin on May 31, 2017 No comments

WASHINGTON, DC – Rohan Chaudhri Thakur of Woodbury, MN was named the 2017 Murray Glauberman Scholarship Award recipient by the Consumer Specialty Products Association (CSPA), in recognition of his outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements. Rohan, the 29th student to receive this award, is the son of Ranjit and Namrata Thakur. Dr. Thakur works with 3M Company, in Maplewood, MN. 3M is a member of the CSPA.

Since the annual scholarship program began in 1989, CSPA has awarded $232,000 to deserving students to pursue higher education. Thakur will receive the award at CSPA’s Mid-Year Meeting on May 16, 2017 at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, MD.

“Rohan is clearly a young man of exceptional character, combining excellence in his academic pursuits, with leadership in his community and a passion to help people,” said Steve Caldeira, CSPA’s President and CEO. “I congratulate him on his achievements and wish him the best in pursuing his educational goals.”

Rohan will receive a total of $8,000 over four years for his education. He plans to attend the University of Minnesota as a Dean’s Scholar in the College of Biological Sciences this fall. Rohan hopes to study cellular biology and neuroscience leading to a career in medicine. His interest in medicine was sparked in middle school by the work he did to earn his Boy Scout medical merit badge and by volunteer work he has done for four years at Woodwinds Hospital. Today, Rohan is a full Eagle Scout who works part-time in a research position with the Medical Device Center at the University of Minnesota, where he assists a post-doctoral research team that is building a new, more accurate medical device to differentiate between tumorous and normal body tissue.

The East Ridge High School honor student serves as a liaison between his peers and educational administrators on the Principal’s Cabinet and on the Superintendent’s Advisory Council. Rohan founded the school’s Investment Club and its Cricket Club. In his spare time, he is an accomplished varsity rower with the Twin Cities Youth Rowing team.

The selection of this year’s scholarship winner was determined by a committee in conjunction with Kelly Mills, MD, Assistant Professor of Neurology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Consideration for the award is limited to those students whose parent or grandparent is employed full-time by a CSPA member company.

About the Award

The Murray Glauberman Memorial Scholarship was established to honor the memory of the late Murray Glauberman, who was the 1986 chairman of CSPA’s board of directors. Mr. Glauberman’s son, Stuart Glauberman, and the Consumer Specialty Products Association fund the annual award.

adminCSPA Selects Minnesota Student as 2017 Murray Glauberman Scholarship Award Recipient

Join the conversation